Filthy’s Favorite High School Chick Flick Movies

As I write this I am listening to TLC on Pandora because if you know me I LOVE 90’s music and girl bands,plus I thought it would be the perfect music to listen to while I blog about my favorite Chick Flicks.These are the movies that have really influenced my fashion style and also serve as great sources of mindless entertainment for me.The best Chick Flicks were made in 90’s(hands down) although there are a few on the list that were the best of their decade that were just too good to pass up.These movies consist of usually a couple of things-great 90’s fashion and bitchy girls.So why don’t we begin.

       

 10 Things I Hate About You  

Who could forget the first time we really fell in love with Heath Ledger-especially the scene where he serenades Julie Stiles on the football field or “Alex Mack ‘s” dad forcing her to put on a pregnancy belly to feel what it would be like to be a teen mom.Not to mention, Joseph Gordon Levitt being an absolute cutie and wanting to do just about anything to win Larissa Oleynik’heart. This flick doesn’t necessarily have a crew of bitchy cheerleaders but instead Julie Stiles carried this movie as “the biggest bitch we couldn’t help but root for”.

Outfit that defined

Bianca’s “party” outfit was the highlight for us,I mean not only is she rocking one of those twisty updo’s that we all tried in the 90’s but she went balls to the walls with that bright pink tulle skirt and I honestly love it!

The quote we will never forget

I hate the way you talk to me,

and the way you cut your hair.

I hate the way you drive my car,

I hate it when you stare.

I hate your big dumb combat boots

and the way you read my mind.

I hate you so much it makes me sick,

it even makes me rhyme.

I hate the way you’re always right,

I hate it when you lie.

I hate it when you make me laugh,

even worse when you make me cry.

I hate it when you’re not around,

and the fact that you didn’t call.

But mostly I hate the way I don’t hate you,
not even close…

not even a little bit…

not even at all..

Grease

I remember my gma( out of all people) introducing me to this movie for the first time when I was around maybe 8 or 9 and all I remember is how obsessed I was with it.Not only is it one of the best musicals( in my opinion),but the Pink Ladies set the bar as the coolest bitches to take over the screen before anyone else.I also loved that there was a “makeover” scene where Sandy goes from sweet girl to bad ass to win the heart of John Travolta. Now that I think about it, I think many 90’s High School Chick Flicks emulated the model of Grease.

Outfit that Defined

Leather pants were never the same after this.

Olivia Newton-John had to be sewn into her trousers at the end of the film as they were so tight. They were put on in the morning and she was not allowed to take them off or go to the restroom while they were on, as the crew would have to waste time sewing them back on( pretty intense).

The quote we will never forget

               

She’s All That

Freddy Prinze Jr. made the perfect eye candy for this “must see” 90’s chick flick and what girl didn’t want to be Rachael Leigh Cook post her babe makeover?! This is one of those feel-good movies that instantly takes me back to that time. I mean how can we forget that random prom scene where everyone is dancing to Fatboy Slim with Usher as the DJ.. ah too good.

     Outfit that Defined 

down-Rachael_Leigh_Cook-She's_All_That-02Obviously had to be “the red dress” there was nothing more perfect then her walking down the stairs to Sixpence None the Richer singing “Kiss Me”.Such an ahamzing scene.

The quote we will never forget

Taylor Vaughan: You didn’t think you became popular for real, did you? Oh, you did? That’s so sweet.

The Craft

This movie is high school bitches at their best! I went between this movie and Jawbreaker for this spot as they are both involved some pretty craycray high school chicks.But in the end, I had to pick the Craft for its huge cult following. Fairuza Balk was also such a badass in the movie and actually scared me even to this day.

Outfit that Defined

Crosses,skulls and anything dark is really everything right now and I see this movie as a great representation of that style. I love the simple white button down,deep red lips,and knee high combo that they wore to school-the topping-on-the-cake is those rosary necklaces. I absolutely love cross necklaces.

The quote we will never forget

Heathers

This movie is like the Craft in that it  is pretty dark for a HS flick but I really loved it for its ability to get pretty deep on the issue of mental illness.This movie was definitely the “Mean Girls” of its time( which happened to be the 80’s) and who could forget a young Christian Slater as one crazy very unstable kid.I will say the only thing that really annoyed me in this movie is the way he talked..anyone agree?

The quote we will never forget

Outfit that Defined

Too much 80’s fashion goodness in this movie, but I must say, I love Veronica’s off the shoulder gray sweater paired with that black dress ( so 80’s with is long straps),and that br0och is so perfect.

Legally Blonde

This movie couldn’t have came out at a better time in my life (7th grade). My friends and I called ourselves the “Bop Squad” and we basically got off on acting like “dumb blondes” even though only one of us was blondes-ah the things you do in middle school.That being said,when this movie came out we felt like it spoke to us,we were OBSESSED.Although it isn’t necessarily a high school chick flick more like a college one I guess, it still had to be added to the list for its amazing fashion moments and overall goodness.

The quotes we will never forget (couldn’t pick just one here)

Outfit that defined

Elle rocking a leather skirt suit,what more could I ask for.

Never Been Kissed

Not only is this one of my FAVE Drew Barrymore movies,Mona May who is one of my favorite Costume Designers, did the wardrobe for this movie and it is ahmazing. This chick flick plays with the idea of what if you could redo your time in high school, face the pack of bitches ( which usually come in threes and fours) once and forall and get your first kiss.If you haven’t seen it get on that!

The quote we will never forget

Outfit that Defined

This was a hard one as there are so many fun outfits in this movie,but I had to go with this one.I actually remember having a black feathered duster jacket that was similar to this style except not nearly as out there and it was so of that time.Such a glorious outfit!

Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion

I’ll never forget the first time I watched this movie,I was in fifth grade and it was my first “rate R” movie and I thought it was so cool we got to watch it.It is so funny how so many things go over your head when you are little.When I watched this movie again when I was older, I was able to appreciate it that much more.As I get to the end of my list, I realized that a lot of these amazing chick flicks have a ton of similarities.For instance,right now, Romy and Michelle is similar to Never Been Kissed with the idea of going back high school and reliving it in a totally different way.The bitchy pregnant ladies in this movie are also similar to the Jessica Alba crew in Never Been Kissed.My point being that “the stereotypical” high school movies although are definitely dramatized every high school had that pack of bitches.

The quote that defined

This movie has sooo many good quotes that it was hard to choose but I couldn’t pass up this one..image

Outfits that defined

As if I could choose something different..ps.Mona May did the costumes in this as well!

Look like they might have even inspired this..

Mean Girls

Thank you to Tina Fey for making this movie! There are very few good “high school” based movies that came/have come out of the 2000’s, so when I finally saw this it was such relief because I was actually old enough to appreciate the trueness of this movie. I also think my generation of girls were excited to have a movie that reflected our time instead of the 90’s for instance.If we are going to remember Lindsay Lohan for doing anything good, it is this movie.Rachel McAdams also shocked us(after the Notebook too) with her ability to be a really good bitch!

The quote we will never forget

Again so many good ones to choose from but..

Outfit that defined

Cady Heron’s Halloween Costume because how can she not know..

.

Clueless

As if you didn’t expect this to be my number one!I could talk all day about how Clueless has had such impact on my love for fashion and how it is much more than just a fabulous movie but really I think this chick flick was just so ahead of its time in so many ways (fashion,quotes) that this is why it has become a cult film as of late.In case you haven’t seen Wildfox did a whole look book based on the movie and Calvin Klein even brought back the famous “cher dress” because it is that good.

The quote we will never forget

Outfit that defined

I narrowed it down to two because it was really hard to choose.

That sheer button down was so brilliant over that sweater and printed high-waist skirt;while that Alaia dress paired with that feathered coat ( Never Been Kissed connection?) to me just defined Cher so wonderfully!

Leave a comment