Costume Design Spotlight on Theoni V. Aldredge

Last weekend, I came across a double feature playing at the Aero Theatre which by the way is an amazing movie theatre that shows movies that  have been in theatres in the  past. Which is amazing because there’s so many old movies I would have loved to have seen on the big screen. This theatre gives you the opportunity to do so.They also have occassional appearances by actors,actresses or people who had worked on the movie. They will usually come and speak about the behind the scenes things which is my favorite thing. Anyways I saw Great Gatsby and Eyes of Laura Mars playing which Costume Design done by Theoni V.Aldredge. Mario Schwab,the designer for Halston, was inspired by  Theoni V.Aldredge’s costume designs especially her work on The Eyes of Laura Mars.” Another of his inspirations was apparently the set design of the 1978 Faye Dunaway vehicle Eyes of Laura Mars, which loaned a color palette of rich neutrals—in a sweater dress with fur sleeves, for instance—that was set off by shots of intense color, like the yellow knit cape dress or the red jersey gown.”(Style.com).
I thought this was a perfect opportunity to go and observe the inspiration on screen. I also been itching to see The Great Gatsby movie because the book is one of my favorites. The Great Gatsby is set in the roaring 20’s era so although it was very 20’s there were definetly elements of the 70’s from the actual time the movie was made. I didn’t get to stay for Eyes of Laura Mars since A. I was starving and B. I was kind of uncomfortable in the old school theatre but I definitely want to watch it at some point. The Great Gatsby as a movie was entertaining but so overly dramatic I think the remake will be a lot better it still is an amazing story. The costumes however were to die for.

Here were some of my favorite costumes:

The costume Daisy wears to Gatsby’s house was my favorite of the whole film so beautiful and the hat was drop dead amazing.

Eyes of Laura Mars vs.Halston Fall 2010

Halston Fall 2010 Ready-to-WearHalston Fall 2010 Ready-to-WearHalston Fall 2010 Ready-to-Wear

Leave a Reply

