I’m Loving:The Bar Method

So Filthy Gorgeous is usually my safe haven for everything fashion that inspires me or I like to share with my readers. But Filthy Gorgeous doesn’t always HAVE to be about fashion. Sometimes there are just things I have to share with you guys because it’s always nice knowing how good something is first hand from a reliable source ( hopefully you view me that way :))without having to Yelp your life away. So first off, I am lazy when it comes to working out.My whole life I’ve struggled with my weight.I mean really who has ever been satisfied? I never was a big person just not in the shape I knew I could be in.I tried EVERY diet and let me just save you the time they DON’T work.The moment I stopped restricting myself is when I actually started to loose weight. Also it helps to be busy,this sounds dumb but when you are doing things you don’t have time to sit around and wonder what your next meal will be. Excercise wise I hate running in fact I just can’t run,I tried it and it made me feel like death every time so I am the type of person who loves low impact non-cardio(ish) workouts.Think Pilates and Yoga. I’ve done Pilates and Yoga probably for 5 years on and off.Classes,Dvds here and there and yes both amazing workouts but I never felt that “addicted”feeling people get from a certain workout. This was until my friend Angeli introduced me to The Bar Method back in November. Her sister Raissa is part owner of The Marina Del Rey Studio and they were having a bring a friend week so she brought me. So you are probably wondering “What is Bar Method?” According to the official Bar Method website “The Bar Method™workout creates a uniquely lean, firm, sculpted body by combining the muscle-shaping principles of isometrics, the body-elongating practice of dance conditioning, the science of physical therapy and the intense pace of interval training into a powerful exercise format that quickly and safely reshapes and elongates muscles.” The workout is
reminisce of Ballet,Pilates and Yoga. These are the benefits of The Bar Method according to the website:

The result is a noticeable “Bar Method” sculpted body featuring:

  • Firm, elongated muscles
  • Reduced body fat
  • High muscle definition in the chest, upper arms and upper legs
  • Improved posture
  • Long, narrow thighs
  • A lifted seat and defined hamstrings
  • Strong, flat abdominals
  • Increased stamina and energy
  • Extended youthfulness
You can read more about the benefits here:http://www.barmethod.com/bar-method-exercises.html.

I got addicted to this workout because it is the only workout I have done where I see results fast.This is what makes me want to keep doing it.Usually it takes so much time and dedication to see a change from a workout that we get over it by the time we see results.If you do the classes or DVDs 3 times a week for a month you will see a difference in your body.Bar Method works your muscles to exhaustion and it never gets easy but the pay off is amazing. It is hard enough where I feel like I am working out but not hard enough where I am totally turned off and treading having to do it again. I actually love doing and I never thought I say that about any excercise. I’ve been doing Bar Method for 3 months pretty religiously which is insane because I’ve never stuck to a workout so long. I’ve seen a definite difference in my legs,butt,stomach and arms. I’ve also kept off 5 pounds without even doing anything different just trying to do my DVDs at least twice a week. I totally recommend trying it whether you go to a class or order the DVDs online. If you want to do a class the website has a list of classes around the city you live in (http://www.barmethod.com/exercise-studios-contact.php). Also when you are a new client you get a month unlimed for $100 bucks so worth it. The classes are good to learn correct form and gain overall motivation to work your body to the limit.If you want to do the DVD I recommend The Beginner Workout and The Dancer’s Body Advance Workout.
The Beginner Workout is perfect starting out. Joey the instructor will motivate you and he works through the workout fast without wasting time. Once you get bored of that do The Dancer’s Body Advance Workout,the intensity and the moves are what you would do in a standard class. If any of you try it please let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

